top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebai

eclipses and senior year

this summer has been absolutely insane. it's been pretty much nonstop since about two weeks into june, right after I got out of school, being filled with youth conference, traveling, girls camp, dog sitting, st. george, meetings, dates, and everything in between. and, to end my lovely summer, I got to see one of the most stunning things ever: the 2017 eclipse.


the shadows on the ground from the eclipse through our trees were soo cool!


and I did quite enjoy the nice weather that we got during the eclipse itself. it was kind of weird, it being so dark at 11:30 in the morning, but it was also really cool (figuratively and literally). and - don't worry - I did not look directly into the sun. we had these glasses for viewing the eclipse that my mom got from her work.


but yeah, it was an amazing experience, even if it did only last for a short time. we won't have another eclipse until 2045, at which point I will be 45 years old, which is really weird to think about. imagine how different my life will be in 28 years!


anywaaaay... these past few days have been pretty good. I've gone bowling a lot, with friends and with family. I'm gonna be honest, I am terrible at bowling. most of the time I just get gutter balls or hit the very edge pins, buuut it's fun anyway. wholesome family activities, right?

and how can you not love bowling when you get such stylish shoes to go bowling in? it's fantastic.


my "last day of freedom" (as some of my friends like to call it) was spent mostly at my school, ironically enough. I had to sign up for online classes because I have zero room on my schedule, even as a senior. I'm taking so many art classes and I am superbly excited.


aaand, it's my senior year. I'm simultaneously so ready and not ready at all. I'm ready to move out and get into the world, do my own thing and have my own place. I'm ready to go to college and to travel, to find a career that I love and (hopefully) excel in it. I'm ready to really, really start my own life.


but I'm not quite ready to leave high school yet, to not see the friends I've made there every single day. I'm not exactly ready for the stresses that I know adult life will bring, and I'm honestly going to miss my mom so much when I move out.


but change is good (or at least I keep telling myself so). I'm excited to see what this next year in my life will bring. I won't be 18 for another 10 months after all!



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page