top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturebai

dances & colleges & debate

holy flipping cow. so much can happen in just a month's time. as I was looking back in my photos to see what I'd done since I last wrote, it didn't possibly seem like all of that had happened in just 30 days (or, I guess, 36 days in this case).


well, for starters, I got my act scores back and guess what?! I got a 31! I was so happy to have gotten that score, especially because I definitely didn't study as much as I should have. buuut, I'm still going to take it again because I need a 34 (with my 3.8 gpa, stupid B+ in 9th grade math) in order to get the presidential scholarship at utah state university.


oh, by the way, I think I'm planning on going to utah state. more on that later.


before I get into all of the college and school and social things that have been going on this past month, look at this flipping cute gif of me and enz:



he is the cutest thing in the world and he honestly makes me so happy:))


anyway, the 23rd of september was homecoming, and I went with my bestest friend ever, wyatt, which was so much fun. I've said it a million times, but I'm so grateful that he and I are friends.



we were in a group with dev and sara, which was so much fun. we went to sill's for breakfast, had a day-date of making cookies and playing very intense ping pong, had dinner at chili's, and danced the night away. it was the best dance I've been to yet. aaand, I felt like a total princess with my dress on, which is one of the reasons I love school dances so much.


oh, and the night before homecoming, we of course went to the homecoming football game, where I got this totally spectacular photo of the sunset that night:



among homecoming and other things, I've also had lots of meetings, had an eye doctor appointment to get contacts (which should hopefully come soon), had some senior pictures taken (which I might upload on here at some point), went to a car show with shaun and tried out my awesome film camera that he gave me (pictures most definitely to come), had a few dates, AND went to the utah state university open house just last thursday.


that was actually a lot of fun, and a bit longer than I expected. there was a bunch of booths set up, all about different things in utah state university - housing, different majors, financial aid, leadership opportunities, etc. I went to a lot of those and found out some really interesting and helpful things about going to utah state.


there was also a scholarship area, where they awarded you scholarships on the spot based on your gpa and act/sat scores. I was awarded the dean's scholarship (90% tuition for 2 years), but I want to try and get the presidential scholarship (100% tuition AND fees for 4 years). hopefully I can bump my act score up enough to get it.


we also went to two different little break out session things, one that talked about cost and scholarships and all that, and another that talked about life as an aggie, also very helpful and persuasive.


but, basically, that night pretty much made up my mind that I want to go to utah state. I mean, it was the first college I seriously considered back in 8th grade, after all. actually, I was dead-set on going to utah state in 8th grade, mostly because my favorite teacher at the time had gone to utah state and I wanted to be like her. I changed a bit and broadened my choices, but now I really do think I want to go there.


and look, a picture of your future aggie:



(who should hopefully have contacts soon)


also, I asked my friend keaton to the harvest dance coming up! with this flipping awesome poster, which I made totally by myself (and by totally by myself, I mean with lots of help from my mom because I was tired and it was 11:00 at night and I had lots of homework).



and, in case you're wondering why I used toy soldiers, let me tell you: my wonderful friend keaton wrote a book (actually, two now) about toy soldiers and actually got it published and everything. it's soo good, and so I thought I would incorporate that into my proposal.


he answered me back yesterday in my french class with this amazing painting of a galaxy that said on it: "roses are red, the t.a.r.d.i.s. is blue..." and then on the back it had a gif of david tennant saying, "I don't want to go" and he wrote, "with anyone but you!" and then he also had a super cool painting of the tardis that said yes on it, plus a bouquet of roses as well. it was so sweet and I loved it immensely.


so! there will probably be a post about that in a few weeks time.


alrighty, last thing. I had my first debate tournament of the season on saturday!! it was honestly so much fun (even if I was a little nervous) and I didn't realize how much I have missed debate. I competed in foreign extemporaneous and placed 4th, which I was super proud of considering I haven't debated in pretty much a year. I'm soo happy to be back in debate.


I also judged a novice tournament yesterday, which was quite fun as well:)


well, that is all for now. enjoy this wonderful picture of a beautiful sunrise:


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page